My Meal In The Food Capital Of The World

During my winter European adventure I had a very brief yet delightful stop in the gastronomical capital of the world (food and culture) Lyon! One of the reasons that this little French city has held this title for almost a century is the Bouchon. This unique type of restaurant that can only be found in Lyon, and are famous for not only the food but the overall atmosphere they give to diners. Bouchon’s are typically small family owned restaurants that serve hearty home-made foods from long standing family recipes. They are cosy, warm and the food is delicious which is exactly what I needed to escape the cold.

Whilst the city is home to a number of Michelin Star restaurants I can almost guarantee that any you step foot into will provide an amazing dining experience. We indulged in shared plates of cheese, cold meats and bread as well as tasting some classic french dishes like snails and frogs legs. Whilst I couldn’t bring myself to actually eat a snail, I did indulge in frog legs which I can confirm are basically chicken wings. For the second course we all tried something different, ranging from classic french onion soup to carbonara with raw egg. After what ended up being a dinner of tasting every dish on the table the group was full and I was satisfied that I had indulged in the best food the world has to offer.

The rest of the night was shared over drinks at a local bar and several orders of colourful shots before our time in Lyon came to a close. Though my stay was short and cold the Bouchon dining experience was definitely worth it and I would recommend the trip to anyone who wants to experience all France has to offer.

A video snapshot of my Winter Wanderer tour: here!

One thought on “My Meal In The Food Capital Of The World

Leave a Reply

